[Task #1] Little about me…

My dog Bella & I

Hello!

       My name is Brittney and I am currently finishing up my fourth year of Elementary Education. I was born and raised in Regina, Saskatchewan, in which I attended Glady’s McDonald Elementary School and Thom Collegiate High School. I am the middle child of three. I have a younger brother named Chance and an older sister named Amber. I have a beautiful niece named Haylea and a cute little dog named Bella. In my spare time I like to listen to music, watch movies, workout, travel and hang out with friends and family. In the summer of 2010 I backpacked Europe in which I visited 5 countries, 13 cities in 6 weeks. When I graduate in April I plan to teach English overseas while traveling before establishing a permanent teaching job, but only time will tell!

I pre-interned at Pilot Butte Elementary School in a grade 3/4 split. I recently finished my internship in December 2010 at Judge Bryant Elementary School in a grade 1 classroom in which I was nominated for the Myrtle McGee Award. During my Pre-internship, my partner and I created a blog in which we posted are journey teaching our individual units, in which we communicated back and forth with our students. In my grade one classroom during internship I found technology to be a bit of a struggle to be integrated into the classroom due to their age and lack of knowledge, but did manage to incorporate Language Arts and Math on the computers playing math games and listening to reading on RAZ KIDS.

I work with computer programs like Microsoft word, Excel and QuickBooks at my job but other than that I lack knowledge when it comes to new and upcoming computer programs. I feel computers are an important aspect to be integrated into the classroom especially because computers and technology are such a big part of children’s lives today. I feel as teachers we need to become familiar with them as well to teach at the student’s level and tap into their own interests. New technologies such as YouTube, Facebook, MySpace, mobile phones I believe have their place in the classroom and can be beneficial to students however I feel they can be easily misused and abused outside of class time. Technology such as computers are used all around the world, and is one of the only things that can instantly connect one another no matter where one may be in the world – I find this fascinating!

In my ECMP 355 class I hope to become computer literate, in which I will be introduced to a variety of computer programs and know how to use and adapt them into my everyday life as well as my future classrooms. I have high expectation for this class, in which I am eager to learn about the technologies offered! I am a fast learner so I have high expectations for myself as well!

That’s all for now!
-B

Leave a Reply

